2015 -Where did Jan Jaunt?

My first full year of retirement exceeded all expectations. This list (with hyperlinks) summarizes most of my 2015 adventures and blog posts.

Arizona

California

Colorado

Idaho

  • Sawtooth Wilderness (post pending)

Nevada

Utah

Canada

 

I’m planning an equally exciting 2016. Areas of potential exploration include:

California

  • Death Valley
  • Joshua Tree

Arizona

  • Grand Canyon
  • Vermilion Cliffs Wilderness

Colorado

  • Colorado Trail
  • Continental Divide Trail (CDT) Cherry Picking

Montana

  • Glacier NP
  • Beartooth Wilderness

New Mexico

  • CDT Cherry Picking

Oregon

  • Crater Lake (winter camping/snowshoeing)
  • PCT

Utah

  • Capitol Reef
  • Goblin Valley
  • Grand Staircase-Escalante

Washington

  • PCT
  • Pacific Northwest Trail (PNT)

Wyoming

  • CDT Cherry Picking
  • Tetons
  • Wind River Range

 

Someone told me that I didn’t need to try to do everything during my first year of retirement. With a list like this barely scratching the surface of available adventures, I don’t think I have to worry about running out of opportunities.

How are your 2016 plans shaping up?

 

P.S. Please don’t hate on me for having the gift of time. I worked hard and sacrificed a lot so I could retire early and play.

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “2015 -Where did Jan Jaunt?

    • You can savor one post a day . . . I met with my financial adviser yesterday and he said it’s a rare few who actually do what they say they’re going to do when they retire. I’m proud to fit into that category!

  1. I don’t hate you. I’m just jealous. I did the same but it is not working out for me, not yet, and it’s hard to be patient. I just want to be in good health but I will be kind of old. I know, I know…
    That’s a great list! What’s on tap for this year?

    • I’m not taking my health for granted either. Just this little setback from my cracked ribs has been a good reminder.

      Scroll down my post and you’ll see my 2016 list. Nothing is set in stone. I’m anxious for a little winter fun locally then time to find places better suited to winter hiking. Most likely I’ll start in Death Valley and Joshua Tree probably late January. I enjoyed my time in Utah so much last January I plan to return this time first priority is to explore Hole in the Rock road and the Grand Staircase/Escalante NP.

Thoughts? Questions? Comments? Broken Links? I'd love to hear from you!

