MT – Glacier NP – Many Glacier . . . grabbing life by the tail

With a forecast of rain, rain, and more rain, I decided I better see what I can while the gettin’s good. I’d just returned from hiking 15 miles on the Going-to-the-Sun Road. Did I really have enough energy to keep going? My adventure compass is ruled by two primary objectives (1) be an opportunist; and (2) live without regrets.

Hello Lake Sherburne. I’d like to get to know you better. 

Those mountains shadowing Swiftcurrent Lake are much to my liking.

With spring melt comes raging creeks. 

Grizzly bears or not, I can’t wait to explore this territory. It’s so stunning, just the way I love my mountains.

I may have to say goodbye for now, but I’ll be back. You’ve given me just enough to whet my appetite. 

My little adventure provided yet another opportunity to find more pasqueflowers. I’m in love and just can’t get enough of you lovely lavender darlings.

Date(s) Hiked: April 22, 2016

Road Trip Day(s) #64 out of 88

Tips:

  • The only campgrounds in the park open during the winter/early spring season are Apgar and St Mary (however, when I arrived at Many Glacier, the sign showed open).
  • Come prepared with grizzly bear spray or buy at Visitor’s Center upon arrival
  • Microspikes or YakTrax are a good option for early season travel.

Resources:

Links:

Thoughts? Questions? Comments? Broken Links? I'd love to hear from you!

