Me and My CRV – Eek, there’s a Mouse in my House

mouse5

Run for your life, dang mouse.

You are NOT welcome in my house!


After my recent Ah Sh*t” post, I received some fun comments that I thought my readers might enjoy.

Dave had these humorous thoughts:

Situation: Mouse in car.

Symptoms:

(1) You see mouse looking out at you from behind dashboard. (More likely with older cars having mechanical HVAC controls.)

(2) You see reverse dimples in headliner caused by mousie feets as it runs around over your head.

(3) You hear a faint buzzing sound as mouse blows you a raspberry. Followed by tiny gales of wild laughter.

(4) You hear slight, intermittent scratching noises all night.

(5) Upholstery begins disintegrating in nest-sized patches.

Issues:

Mouse not only rips up upholstery to make nest, but additionally poops randomly into, onto, beside, on top of, and/or under everything. Mouse demonstrates superior agility and intelligence, eats stuff, makes you feel helpless.

Possible Solutions:

(1) Simplest: Take everything valuable out of car. Set car on fire. Buy another car. Guaranteed. (Also fast.)

(2) Slower but cheaper: Take everything valuable out of car. Take everything else out of car. Remove seats. Set traps. Wait.

(3) Most appealing: When you see evidence of mouse running around above you inside headliner, slap at it. Slap at it hard. Smash it. Worry about cleanup later, or sell car within 24 hours and leave town. Do not return.

(4) Prevention: Close vents as soon as car stops moving. This keeps mousies from crawling in through the vents. If leaving car unattended, or planning on parking off-road and going to sleep, then also close windows either completely or so far that you can barely stick the tip of your little finger into the gap. If that. (Mousies are small.) Smartest option. Effective unless mouse has a master key.

Meanwhile a friend started this facebook thread:

Flippin mouse ((mice??)) keeps getting in my car. It springs traps and gets away. I fed it decon poison via the trap, it ate 1/4 of a bait and is still arriving for more car exploration. There are repellent packets all over the car and there is NO food in my car. I have scrubbed the inside with lysol until it is pristine. I do not know what it wants…there are no crumbs even. Do you think they just love being in a clean car??? The Hyundai mechanic showed me where to stuff crevices with those cloying scented dryer towels, he says they hate them. Did that work, noooooo. I just caught the little turd with a glue trap. My son is my hero! Threw that little sucker down the hill! Off he went, stuck, wiggling, and squirming, flying like a frisbee. There better not be more…because I have more glue traps!

Suggested Additional Solutions:

  • Save a Heart Trap. Put food, peanut butter on a piece of bread, in it. Capture the dude and drive him away, about 5 miles and let him go so a snake or bird or coyote can have a meal . .  if they can catch them . . . afterall second chances are fair, right? NO! 
  • Peppermint. They sell bagged peppermint mouse repellent. You can also use essential oil. The rodents don’t like anything minty. Bait air filter and vents (air and defrost).
  • Mothballs. Place them on the ground around car.
  • Get a Kitty. Visualize the cat, smashed up against a window, meowing, “Forget the mouse! Let me out!”

I personally love the kitty idea, not only would my car be mouse free, but I’d also have a travel and adventure buddy.

Hopefully I’ve had my one and only rodent visitor. Do you have other suggestions?

All food will live in plastic bins in the future.

More posts about Me and My CRV 

mouse5

Run bastard run . . . and don’t even think about coming back!

 

 

6 thoughts on “Me and My CRV – Eek, there’s a Mouse in my House

  1. Or, leave the door open.

    The second mouse I had was in the middle of Utah somewhere. I couldn’t do much, so I wedged something in the door and held it shut with bungie cords, leaving about a 2-inch gap.

    No one and nothing big could get in without major struggle, but the mouse was free to make a run for it during the night, which it did.

    Freedom is the ultimate trap.

Thoughts? Questions? Comments? Broken Links? I'd love to hear from you!

