Chasing Spring 2017

You may recall my February post, “HELP Readers, I’m in search of early Spring.” I received many great ideas and spent time marking maps with possible destinations. However, it became quickly apparent that my wishes were unrealistic. I was not going to find my idea of spring in March this year and I was much too impatient to wait until April to begin my spring jaunt.

Detailed posts will be forthcoming, but until then, here’s a summary of my spring jaunt.

Length of Trip:  78 days (February 27 to May 16)

States Visited: 8 (California, Colorado, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Utah and Wyoming)

National Parks, Monuments, Recreation Areas Visited: 10 (yes, I’ve been making good use of my annual pass)

Lassen Volcanic, California

Great Basin, Nevada

Arches, Utah

Canyonlands, Utah

Natural Bridges, Utah

Capitol Reef, Utah

Chimney Rock, Colorado

Rocky Mountain, Colorado

Fossil Butte, Wyoming

Hells Canyon, Idaho

Miles Driven: 6,851 (averaged 87 miles per day, 25.2 miles per gallon, cost was around $700 at $2.15-$2.50 per gallon)

Activity Days: 49 (averaged 4.5 days per week)

Night Spots:

Slept in Car (39 nights, with only 5 in campgrounds)

Friends/family (22 nights, special thanks to all who hosted me)

Tent (9 nights while backpacking – not nearly enough)

Cabin (4 nights on a backcountry ski adventure)

Motel (4 nights, two nights shared)

Photos Taken: 36 gigs (I’d call that a successful trip)

With summer just a few days away, I think it’s high time to share some of those photos and stories.

2 thoughts on “Chasing Spring 2017

  1. Thanks. You’re an inspiration.

    I spent a bit under three months last summer living in a car and backpacking, but it was too little time.

    Due to residency requirements of the country I’m living in, I have to wait until mid-December before I can really travel. I’m tentatively thinking about hitting the U.S. again in mid-January 2018 and taking it from there, probably buying a small van for a home.

    I’ll have 60 months at a stretch to do what I want, instead of 3, and there’s a good chance, at my age, that I won’t use up my first time allotment, which is both good news and not. But hey. So far I’m on track and also not dead.

    Meanwhile, I’ll be checking your blog for clues. It’s a learning thing, ya know?

Thoughts? Questions? Comments? Broken Links? I'd love to hear from you!

