ID/MT – Snowshoe Falls, Scenic Highway 12 Adventures

After visiting the Charcoal Kilns along Highway 28, I continued north through Salmon and onto Highway 93. Soon I found signs for the CDT (Continental Divide Trail). 

I attempted access via both roads unsuccessfully, so I continued north and as things are meant to be I explored another forest service road and found my happy place.

After a restful 27 degree night, I continued north on 93 finding myself at the Continental Divide and the Montana border. Why am I going north? Do I really think I’ll find green spring in Montana? Soon enough I was heading west on the Northwest Passage Scenic Byway aka Highway 12: A Long and Winding Road. Back in Idaho, I stopped at the Lolo Pass Visitor Center to gather maps, literature and information about the Nez Perce-Clearwater National Forests. They were a great resource.  Highway 12 parallels the Lochsa River where the boaters were hard at play. 

Access to Snowshoe Falls had me reversing course back into Montana. Although just a short jaunt, I needed time out of the car and with rain in the forecast I was motivated to be outside.

Trillium sightings made me feel like I’d found spring. 

A double cascade! 

Lily love. 

Synthyris (Kittentails)

Date(s) Hiked: April 22, 2017

Spring 2017 Road Trip: Day 55 (out of 78)

Links:

Thoughts? Questions? Comments? Broken Links? I'd love to hear from you!

