AB Canada – Banff National Park, Around Town, Cave & Basin National Historic Site (05/23)

Cave and Basin has been a special place for Indigenous Peoples for over ten thousand years and continues to be so to this day. In 1883, three railway workers happened upon the thermal springs, sparking a series of events that led to the creation of the first national park in Canada. Today, the site is a gathering place for sharing stories about conservation and the connection between people and the land. Visitors can enjoy interactive exhibits, short films, seasonal activities, and stunning views of the Rocky Mountains.” Source: Parks Canada

Signage around town makes it easy to find your way; however, I found it helpful to also download the latest town trails map (link), which can be used with Avenza on your phone.

Marsh Loop

This is a birder’s paradise! I enjoyed listening to the birds but of course, was drawn to the plants. My first find was budding willows.

I’m sure this is a haven for mosquitoes although I read on an interpretative sign that mosquito fish were introduced to help with that problem but they’ve not become a bit of an invasive species.

I found another view of Tunnel Mountain aka Buffalo Mountain, maybe looking a bit more like a bison, although I’m still not convinced. It’s still hard to believe this is the most popular peak to hike in the area. I think its original name, Hill, is most appropriate. If it wasn’t such a cloudy day you’d see the big peaks in the background.

You can see all the new spring green in this photo of Sanson Peak.

I found a new-to-me plant!

I found a bird’s nest in a willow.

A cool bush or tree budding.

Lower Boardwalk

This trail provides interpretative signage and viewpoints, plus the opportunity to see some rare plants which I’m hoping to find blooming before I leave the area.

The first thing I saw upon arrival was a plethora of garter snakes. Little did I know they were a rare sighting.

I returned a week or so later in hopes of finding more blooms. These were in a boggy area. I believe they are Watercress (Nasturtium officinale).

Upper Boardwalk

This trail has a lot of interpretative signs explaining the relationship between the Cave and the Basin.

There were lots of sulphur streams and pools but this was the granddaddy. I forgot my Park Pass so I couldn’t visit the museum on this date.

I was able to go inside the building with the First World War Internment exhibit. It had a lot of interpretative information and ties back to the internment camp memorial I stopped at along the Bow Valley Parkway.

I found these clematis blooms as I wandered the boardwalks. Most areas are fenced off or out of reach so distant photos are the best you can get. I’ve been using iNaturalist to determine species based on location and month. Accordingly I believe these are Purple Clematis (Clematis accidentalis).

I believe these are Hookedspur Violets (Viola adunca).

Links:

Thoughts? Questions? Comments? Broken Links? I'd love to hear from you!