UT – Kodachrome Basin State Park, WOWtastic! (04/24)

After seeing photos of this park years ago it went on my list. Finally, I was at the right place at the right time to make a visit. Mother Nature wasn’t playing nice, and in her typical spring temper tantrum mode, she sent me eastward as she blew forth gusty winds and even a little snow. These conditions are not optimal with all the loose sandstone filling the air with grit. One of my windows sounds like it needs to be oiled when you roll it up or down. Thankfully this was a day for chores and this park was the perfect place for them. It had wonderful showers and an awesome laundry room. By the time I was done things were settling down outside and I was able to take my first short walk.

This park is known for its 67 monolithic stone spires, called sedimentary pipes, which accentuate multi-hued sandstone layers that reveal 180 million years of geologic time. They range from 6 to 150 feet in height. This one looked like a seahorse to me.

The color and beauty found here prompted a National Geographic Society expedition to name the area Kodachrome, after the popular color film, in 1948.

I drove up to Eagle’s View Trailhead and started wandering when I realized I best have my hiking poles for this trail. Good thing I didn’t invest much more time as I learned the trail was closed due to severe erosion. I asked a ranger at the visitor center upon arrival about any closures, and he said none. Well, I guess he forgot about this one. There was a sign that said “road closed” which implied you could hike on the closed road, given the well-worn path around the blockade.

The trail provided a nice overview of this part of the park.

I’m glad I explored a bit as this was the only place in the park where I found these yellow astragalus blooms.

Since it was still early season, I was able to get a walk-up campsite reservation. Best yet it came with a view and my very own phallic display.

My evening walk however proved perfect for capturing some of the magic.

Overnight it dropped to 29F in my car but the winds had finally calmed and I awoke to a blue bird day and these views.

I spent a few hours hiking the Panorama Trail, taking detours to Secret Passage, Cool Cave and Panorama Point, a nearly 7-mile 500′ gain/loss jaunt.

Fred Flintstone earned his very own sandstone sculpture.

These fingerprints are at a location labeled “Indian Cave.” I asked the Rangers about them and they said they were most likely made by ranchers or sheepherders but that visitors continue to add to and deepen the impressions.

I took the detour to Secret Passage. Signage was good along the way, and it was mostly easy to stay on track although some social trails might cause some confusion.

I found purple astragalus/milkvetch, and sadly some graffiti.

I thought this looked like a heart valve.

These sandstone sculptures looked like chess pieces to me.

Other scenes along the way.

Will Cool Cave be cool? There are two backcountry campsites along the non-technical side of Sheppard Loop. If the weather was a bit more welcoming I would have considered that option. There are many things to do in this park including rappelling into Cool Cave.

The mouth of the cave begins with a wash walk.

Views from inside the cave.

This looks to be a pipe in the making. Geologists still aren’t sure of the exact origin of the pipes although they have several theories.

Some pipes are fat and some skinny. This one is known as Mammoth Spire.

Compare Mammoth to Ballerina Spire.

I liked how the trail provided so many different views.

Panorama Point provided WOW 360 views!

My second night was colder than the first. It was 29F in my car the first and 24F the second. There was no doubt Mother Nature was still showing us who was in charge of spring weather.

On my second day, I hiked Grand Parade and Angel’s Palace Trails, about 4 miles and 250′ elevation gain/loss. Since I’d waited for temperatures to increase, lighting for photos was far less than optimal.

I took the side trails to the Box Canyons.

I didn’t expect it see an elephant in the desert.

The buffaloberry was just beginning to bloom.

I connected to the Angel’s Palace Trail, the place I should have been at sunset or sunrise. It offers amazingly WOW viewpoints.

I found evidence of the frigid night in a tiny streambed.

A sample of the views from high points along the trail.

I planned on hiking to Shakespeare Arch until I learned it collapsed in 2019.

The Rangers at the Visitor Center were friendly and helpful. This park is unlike most others I’ve visited. They have an 18-hole disc golf course, a 3D archery course, a penny press geocache challenge, bikes for rent, and guided horseback riding. They even sell ice cream at the Visitor Center and have Wi-Fi available. Plus I give the showers and laundry facilities an A+.

Resources:

Links:


Thoughts? Questions? Comments? Broken Links? I'd love to hear from you!