UT – Dixie National Forest, Red Canyon (04/24)

This was my third visit to this area but the first time hiking trails from Highway 12. It was a joyful day hunting hoodoos and enjoying views with snow adding definition to the red rocks.

Step 1 – Park along the highway at one of many pullovers or at the Visitor Center. I started from the first one as I entered the area. The trails are well-signed, although there are a few social trails that might get you off track. I hiked a loop starting with the Photo Trail, and after finishing at the Visitor Center I walked the bike trail on the opposite side of the highway to return to my car.

Step 2 – Get out your camera! My head was on bobble looking around and taking way too many photos. Sadly, like my other visits, my camera wasn’t able to capture the details of the red formations so in the end I played the delete, delete, delete game. Here are a few worthy of sharing in the order I hiked (west to east). Lighting impacts the visual color of the formations.

I decided these balanced rocks were me and Bino Bob.

I moved my car to the Red Canyon Trailhead and hiked Cassidy, Rich and Ledge Point Trails. On previous visits, I’d hiked the Arches Trail (blog link) and the Losee Canyon Trail (blog link). I loved this trail and would happily hike it again in various seasons!

Once again I was there at the wrong time of day to capture photos worthy of sharing but these provide a tiny glimpse.

The color of the rocks making them difficult to photograph without a filter. They are so much more than red!

I knew I was a bit early for blooms, but found a couple and would love to see these flowers highlighting the rocks.

Bino Bob was happy to find posing opportunities.

I believe this is a Townsend Daisy.

I was treated to this view from my dispersed campsite.

With another weather event, it was time to continue my travels. Lighting was much better for photography the next morning.

Resources:

Links:

3 thoughts on “UT – Dixie National Forest, Red Canyon (04/24)

  1. What a beautiful country we live in–I haven’t been to this area. Do I dare add it to my already too long list?

Thoughts? Questions? Comments? Broken Links? I'd love to hear from you!