AB Canada – Kananaskis Country, Bow Valley Wildland Provincial Park, Ha Ling Peak (06/23)

This is a trail to test your fitness and skills. Prepare to be humbled if you show up out of shape. Although it’s only 2.5 miles to the summit, the grade is relentless with over 1,000 feet per mile gained. In places, it’s so steep that steps and stairs have been placed to manage erosion. Add to that loose rock and a finale with a pick-your-own route challenge. I was glad I’d switched to a new pair of shoes, carried trekking poles, and had experience in these conditions. There’s no doubt I earned those 360-degree views.

As you climb you get views of Mount Rundle and Whiteman’s Pond.

This is a very high-use trail and I’m sure these chains were placed to both keep hikers on the trail and provide a bit of safety when those rocks are covered in snow or ice.

There were at least three sets of these staircases. I was impressed with this design that adapts to the terrain. I met a trail maintainer a few days later who said a couple of weeks earlier they found the steps filled with dirt making them ramps. They spent a long day shoveling out the steps making my hike much more enjoyable.

These more typical steps aren’t as sustainable in these conditions.

First views of the peak.

Nearing the peak, you get a view of Miner’s Ridge. Many hikers and runners combined Ha Ling with this ridge for more miles and challenge.

The final summit push.

After 2,600′ elevation gain and 2.65 miles I arrived at the peak where the 360-degree views were amazing.

You can see details of Mount Rundle. There’s a nearby hike to the EEOR (East End of Rundle).

From the peak, you get views down into the Bow River Valley and Canmore. It was a hazy air day, most likely from the wildfires in Northern Alberta.

Hooker’s Mountain-Avens

Double Twinpod

American Smelowskia (Smelowskia americana)

As a bonus at a nearby trailhead I finally got to see a moose. I decided he must have needed to look at the map.

Links:

One thought on “AB Canada – Kananaskis Country, Bow Valley Wildland Provincial Park, Ha Ling Peak (06/23)

Thoughts? Questions? Comments? Broken Links? I'd love to hear from you!