OR – Crater Lake National Park, Volunteer Ranger Jan Adventures, Month #1 (Winter 2023/24)

In December I posted about accepting a volunteer park ranger position at Crater Lake National Park, including my excitement and anxieties (blog link). I can now say, it’s been a wonderful opportunity, with some challenges but mostly plentiful rewards. Let’s talk about rewards first, like getting paid in sunrises, sunsets, rainbows, first powder and more.

My arrival day included a trip to the rim to watch this sunset. Crater Lake is the deepest lake (nearly 2,000′) in the United States and the 7th deepest in the world. It was created when 12,000′ Mount Mazama erupted and collapsed 7,700 years ago.

Day 2 was my first snowshoe outing. Wizard Island was created from continued geothermal activity after Mount Mazama collapsed and the caldera was formed. It’s last eruption was 4,800 years ago. The name was supposedly due to it’s resemblance of a wizard’s hat.

On my third day I found reflective goodness. The lake often gets a skim of ice in the winter but rarely freezes, in fact the last known time was in 1949, although based on weather records there were possibly a couple of other earlier incidents. Mount Thielson, in the background, is a shield volcano which last erupted 250,000 years ago. Llao Rock in the foreground is nearly 2,000′ above the lake, which is 2,000′ deep which provides a good perspective regarding depth.

Now that’s a colorful sunrise, one I’d call a worthy paycheck. Mother Nature had been skimpy with snowfall with only about 30″ at the end of December 2023 as compared to over 65″ the past two years.

This New Year’s Day sunrise was a winner. One of my tasks has been social media posts for the park. I started a fun series, Ranger Jan reporting live . . . This photo was then shared by Rogue Valley Times on their website (link), crediting me. It’s a good way for me to contribute to the park and earn my keep.

This was a favorite day when I was out for first tracks. The most popular snowshoe ski route is from Rim Village to Discovery Point where visitors follow first the Rim Trail and then West Rim Road. Garfield Peak is on the right, a popular hiking destination with 8,000′ views. I attempted it when I first arrived but it was way too icy. Eagle Crags is the mountain in the middle.

I found icicles. It’s been interesting to experience the creation and melt cycles during this early winter season.

We had a freezing rain event with gusty winds. The next morning I found a lot of WOW! In the background is historic Crater Lake Lodge first opened in 1915. It’s available for accommodation usually mid-May through October.

Looking at the lake side of Crater Lake Lodge with Garfield Peak in the background.

The day I was paid in rainbows! I’d been out chatting with visitors and snowshoeing along the rim. The day started with a mix of blue skies and moody clouds.

I watched the clouds move over the lake and spit a bit of sleet and rain before gifting me this rainbow that provided a peekaboo show for at least 30 minutes.

The lake is invisible about 50% of the time in winter. This was a favorite image I captured on one of those days while out roving. The park provides a webcam view of the lake (link) which I always recommend visitors check before making the long drive if seeing the lake is a high priority.

But for me it’s delicious and moody.

One of the most often asked questions is when will the clouds clear and the lake be visible? Ha, if only I had a crystal ball!

This view makes visitors giddy with happiness. I spend a good portion of my time taking their photos.

This view is available from the top floor of the Rim Cafe and Gift Shop. It’s a great option for those who don’t want to or aren’t able to walk on the snow.

I was looking forward to capturing the full moon rising over the lake. I was pleased with this capture a few days earlier, without a tripod and with my phone on superzoom mode.

But Mother Nature decided to foil my efforts. I tried over three nights and this was the best I could muster. Maybe next month?

The first month of my position primarily included answering phones and chatting with visitors while roving on snowshoes. While awaiting computer privileges I was happy to take this Flat Ranger out for an adventure. I’m sure I’ll enjoy answering letters from kids working on their school projects.

I was glad to be in the right place at the right time to help with my first missing person’s incident. Thankfully it was short lived and ended well but it gave me an opportunity to use my radio and learn protocol.

This photo was one of my “coming to you live from Volunteer Ranger Jan” conditions reports I posted on the Crater Lake National Park facebook page. I’ve met a few followers who thanked me for sharing reality. The tracks in this photo are most likely from a pine marten or possibly an ermine. One morning I saw a pine marten from my dining room window and was happy to figure out who’d been running up and down the rooflines. I’ve been learning about what lives under and on the snow here in the winter.

Mount Scott is a stratovolcano which last erupted 420,000 years ago. It’s the highest peak in the park at nearly 9,000′. There’s an established trail to the top, another popular summer hike.

Watchman Peak at a little over 8,000′ is home to an Observation Station (link), which is reached by another popular hiking trail. I snowshoed toward the junction on this date and was able to capture a zoom of the frozen peak and facility.

On days when it’s windy or the road is closed to the rim, snowshoeing or skiing through an old growth forest along East Rim Drive is a wonderful option. Popular turnaround destinations include Vidae Falls or Sun Notch where you gain a view of the lake. Some visitors enjoy the 30-mile loop, most often camping 2-4 nights (link).

I love listening to families laugh and watch them play in the snow. Finding villages of snow people is fun.

This buddy was looking a bit worse for the wear after a night of snowfall.

I even found a Bino Bob sized snowpal and heart. Hey Rachel, this is for you!

While out roving, I spend time educating visitors about winter hazards including cornices and tree wells.

Much of the caldera is roped off but that view on the other side is just too tempting and often I see visitors getting ready to become a statistic.

There have been many incidents involving rescues and deaths by both humans and dogs slipping into the caldera.

I’ve never lived IN the snow before so it’s been an adjustment especially when it comes to taking care of my car. Having her live out in the elements is my least favorite thing about the position especially after a hard freeze or a big snow dump. But hey it’s the price to live in a National Park during the winter!

One of the other challenges is the 10-minute walk to where my car is parked and another 5ish minutes to my office. I’m always lugging stuff back and forth, back and forth. Appropriate clothing, footwear and traction is essential. My umbrella came in handy more than a few times. I can’t say enough positives about the fleece-lined Eddie Bauer pants I picked up at Costco (link) and the Merrell Thermo Overlook 2 Mid Waterproof Boots (link). I’ll be providing a list of my gear and supplies once my season ends, once I know better what worked and didn’t.

Winter volunteers are provided accommodations in these 3-bedroom duplex cabins. It stayed warm and cozy, and included furnishings and a washer and dryer.

During major blowing snow events, my covered entryway can look like this. There was a foot at my door on this day. It was clear the previous evening.

The new year brought true WINTER. It was time for mother nature to play catch-up with SNOW, SNOW and more SNOW. It was my first time observing a blizzard and feeling a bit too isolated. A bothersome negative about life here is lack of cell signal and decent internet. At times it feels like living back in the dial-up days. To make things worst the heavy snow and ice blocked the repeaters which blocked satellite signal for internet access. This meant computers and phones at the office were worthless as well. So I was called off work for several days and conditions outside weren’t conducive to snowshoeing. I was grateful I’d recently stocked up on supplies, was mostly content watching the storms from inside my cozy quarters, although I wish I’d brought some puzzles or games, as I needed a break from reading. I’d planned on working on my blog-to-print project during my downtime but it’s been frustrating with sucky internet.

After the storms! When the snow slides off the roofs it causes roofalanches so you have to be aware of where you walk. Two vehicles got caught in one sliding off my roof.

My boss referenced living in a snow globe, and I concur.

An acquaintance brought me a wonderful gift of produce. The nearest towns for real shopping are Klamath Falls (65 miles) and Medford (75 miles), both a big time commitment on icy and snowy roads. There are a few tiny options in between, one I found is an organic store where I can replenish my greens en route to refill my car’s tank.

Santa brought me 32 pounds of epsom salt. It’s my magic cure post snowshoeing and snow shoveling.

I’m looking forward to my second month. I’m sure I’ll have plenty more photos and stories to share. My favorite question thus far was from someone interested in scuba diving in the lake and wondering about dangerous things in the lake like alligators and crocodiles. I thought he was teasing but nope he was straight-face serious. When visitors ask questions, I learn! “The use of any other swimming accessories other than standard swimsuits or clothing is prohibited. Such accessories include: wetsuits, masks, fins, towable devices, inflatable tubes/mattresses or other swim accessories. SCUBA diving and snorkeling are not permitted in Crater Lake.”

So here I am, all garbed up in my volunteer uniform, ready to chat with visitors. It’s my favorite part of the job. I’ve been meeting people from all over the world and really enjoy sharing a few tidbits about the park as well. Due to some staffing issues, I won’t be leading snowshoe tours as planned but that’s okay because I can reach more people while roving. Some days I’ve talked to more than 100 visitors, and I’ve learned that’s about my limit.

Links:

8 thoughts on “OR – Crater Lake National Park, Volunteer Ranger Jan Adventures, Month #1 (Winter 2023/24)

  1. Nice read Jan!! Thank you for your service Ranger Jan ! Good to hear Flat Ranger Gloria tags along with you but respectful not to get underfoot!

    • For me it’s a unique experience. I’ve lived where we get occasional snow but to be in the 3rd snowiest place in the US is a whole new level. I’ve always needed a lot of natural Vit D and remember not enjoying my time living in the Pacific Northwest due to the number of gray days. So this is definitely an experience and I’m hoping I have enough blue sky days or at least decent days where I can spend time outside. But hey I survived my first month!

  2. Hi Jan
    A great post with fantastic photos. I live in Australia but your pics remind me of the winters I enjoyed when living in St Paul, MN. Lots of snow and sparkling sunny days . Everything was transformed by the snow and cross country skiing on all those blue sky days was magical. I loved it
    Have a great winter and I look forward to hearing more from you.
    Regards
    Barrie

  3. Wow, what a wonderful winter experience and you have a nice cozy place to stay too. How nice to see Bino Bob sitting on a snow heart! Thanks! It’s fun watching for him as I read through your posts. I’m afraid he will sink into the snow without legs and snowshoes. Thanks again for your very interesting posts and beautiful photos!

    • Bino Bob would indeed disappear if I accidentally dropped him into the snow, especially on the deep powder days. It’s definitely an interesting experience and one that will add to my stories. Thanks for continuing to follow along.

Thoughts? Questions? Comments? Broken Links? I'd love to hear from you!